Being Creative – Dessert

After I joined the Being Creative group I realised that that meant I had to do something about it! The subject for April is dessert. Yum, this opened up lots of possibilities, most of which would probably have been eaten before they got to be photographed. So, bizarrely, I decided to make something inedible for dessert.

First of all  I thought I’d make some strawberries.  But as I have made them before I thought that was cheating a bit so I decided to add some cakes. I found these beautiful creations on Norma Lynn’s site but didn’t have all the colours I’d need so I settled for something that I could make with the wool I had. I haven’t crocheted for years so I can thank Julia Crossland for making me pick up my crochet hook again, I’m loving all the hearts, and flowers and bunting I’ve made since (that’s another post though).

There are masses of patterns for the cupcake I made, this is the pattern I used though.

Here then, in all its glory is my April dessert – ta da!

dessert

Or, if you prefer your dessert with a dainty tablecloth –

Dessert on cloth

The strawberries I found on Martha Stewart’s site as pincushions, there is a template to download but I made my own leaves for the tops.

strawberries

The plates are from a Royal Albert tea set called Lady Carlyle and the wine was a Chardonnay Colombard and didn’t last long once all the photos were taken! Lilac from the garden.

I’m looking forward to next month’s challenge now – home.

This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Being Creative – Dessert

  1. Debra Evans says:

    Thank you for a lovely blog post. I have really enjoyed reading your links. I especially love Julia Crossland too. I love Julia’s paintings. They are so cheery and happy. I might go and crochet a few cakes now 🙂

    • maudiemaudie says:

      Thanks for stopping by, glad you enjoyed the post. Julia’s paintings are great aren’t they – if only I could do that! There are some really good cake ‘recipes’ around, my husband tells me the crochet ones are a bit on the dry side though!

  2. Wow! I love your little strawberry pin cushions and the crochet cup cake. I am definitley going to have a go at making these!

  3. Teje says:

    Hello! You have really beautiful desserts – they look so delicious!
    Sunny wishes from Crete! Teje

  4. Ali says:

    OOh another yummy cupcake…and sweet strawberries…I really admire anyone who can sew or crochet…
    Keep up the creativity!
    Ali 😉

  5. Biba says:

    Hi,

    thank you so much for stopping by my blog. Yours is absolutely fantastic! I love what you made for the ‘Being Creative’ Dessert theme, gorgeous!

    Hope to hear from you again!

    Kind regards, Mojca XX.

  6. maudiemaudie says:

    Thanks for stopping by Ali and Biba! And thanks for your kind comments

  7. Julia says:

    I fell in love with your strawberries and crocheted cupcake when you posted them in the Flickr group – I like how you have worked with different mediums to create some really individual and inspiring art! Well done, and thank you for taking part – I look forward to seeing what you come up with next!

    Much love
    Julia x x x

Leave a Reply

