What I’ve been making recently

So, I thought maybe you’d like to see what I’ve been making recently. Apart from the bags below I’ve also made some little crochet bits but that’s for another time.

I made this out of some linen/cotton mix curtains from a charity shop and some suedette. It’s quite soft, even with interfacing.

black and linen tote

I’ve been working on a design for a bag with pleats. This is passable but needs tweaking a little, OK quite a lot actually, but it will all work out in the end.

pleated bag

And, of course I couldn’t end without an Amy Butler design. I know, I know, I said I wouldn’t put up any more of her designs. I lied. But you need to know this – this is the key keeper/coin purse from the Amy Butler’s Style Stitches book. There was cursing, cursing I tell you, during the making of this. It is very fiddly, especially sewing up the bag around the zipper at the end, the instructions are not clear at all. Also, dont bother with the pocket inside. I thought it would be useful for separating ‘stuff’ – it isn’t, you don’t need it. I used it yesterday and it’s a useful little bag to have, just fiddly to  make. Did I mention, don’t bother with the pocket inside – you don’t need it.Amy Butler keykeeper/coin purse

This was also made from some old curtains bought at auctions years and years ago.

This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I’ve been making recently

  1. movita says:

    Oh my goodness! These are fabulous, and way beyond my own sewing capabilities. I love the fabric choices. Deeeelightful!

Leave a Reply

